Tein pari patalappua malliksi kurssille. Ensin muokkasin aiemmin tekemäni mallia ja käänsin kolmion pitkän sivun katedraalin ikkunan tyyliin. Aukosta näkyvää kangasta on vain tuon kukkasen verran siellä alla. Laitoin myös puuvillavanun, koska kankaat ovat melko ohuita.

1321470062_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

Sitten tein Maijan ohjeella yhden kolmivärisen kuusikulmiopatalapun. Kaapissa oli jostain kirpputorilta mukaan lähteneitä kangasnäytteitä, joista löytyi sama kuosi kolmena eri värinä. Tähänkin laitoin puuvillavanun, kun en ollut ihan varma kangaskerrosten lämmöneristävyydestä. Jos tämän tekee kuudesta kuusikulmiosta, niin tuloksena on kuusi kolmiota eikä vanuakaan tarvita, kun kangaskerroksia tulee niin monta.

1321470091_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

 *****************************

I made two more pot holders as examples for my students. The first one is a modification from the one I did earlier, this time I made it in cathedral window style by folding the bias edge aside. Underneath I added a scrap of poinsettia fabric that shows through the opening. Since I used rather thin fabrics I added cotton batting into this one. If the fabrics are thicker there is no need for that.

The second one is a hexagon pot holder made according to fellow blogger Maija's instruction that she kindly added into her blog when I inquired her how she made them. I had some fabric samples from which I used a design in three different colours. They were thicker than the ones used in the first pot holder, but since I wasn't sure if they were thick enough to isolate heat, I added cotton batting into it, too. This pattern can be done with six layers as well, and there's no need for batting then. And you get a nice design with triangles on the top.